Like other Improvement Districts (I.D.) in Alberta, I.D. No. 9 is governed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.  However a municipal Council is appointed to govern on the Minister’s behalf exercising municipal authority as granted by the Municipal Government Act and various Ministerial Orders.

The Council is made up of 5 members appointed at large with a Chairperson, who is appointed by the Council.  I.D. No. 9 administration is led by a Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) who reports to the Council and to Municipal Affairs.

Meet our Current Council.


Council Meetings are generally held on the second Thursday of every month at 1 p.m. alternating between Banff and Lake Louise and are open to the public. Meeting Agendas and Minutes are available online.

You may contact Council via the CAO
Ethan Gorner, CAO